Connetquot Student Council Elections

Every year the members of Connetquot Elementary School’s Student Council hold elections for the school’s four officer positions, and the tradition continued for the 2011-2012 school year. Students interested in running for office conducted small campaigns by creating posters and writing speeches, both to describe themselves and to explain why they believe they should be elected.

The entire Student Council participated in the assembly for the intermediate grades, and at the conclusion of the election presentation, Alexandra Stewart was elected as president, Danielle Kaczynski as vice president, James Mooney as treasurer and Justine Rizzo as secretary. “There were many wonderful presentations made by the candidates,” said Principal Deborah Smith. “Congratulations to the new officers!”

The Student Council is more than a ceremonial organization – its work is substantial. The Council and advisor Heather Johnson have been developing a safety patrol during arrival and dismissal times, to encourage students to make good choices associated with their behavior. Council members have also collected paper from throughout the school building for recycling by the Town of Islip, and they visited classrooms to promote the Connetquot Caring Citizens program, which recognizes students who participate in “random acts of kindness” throughout the school day.