NHS Recognizes 2012 Members

The East Islip National Honor Society held its annual investiture ceremony on June 11 in the high school auditorium. Along with family and friends, 48 seniors from the Class of 2012 celebrated their permanent membership into this prestigious organization. After welcoming remarks from NHS advisor Lisa Neri and Principal William Brennen, each member selected a mentor to confer the bright blue graduation stoles which signified their status as National Honor Society members.

The NHS Class of 2012 were: Jessica Accardi, Kailani Acosta, Siobhan Allmendinger, Kristina Bruzzo, Michael Burgner, Rebecca Carucci, Justine Comiskey (historian), Cynthia Converso, Jessica Dady, Karyn DeFranco, Rachel Domozych, Jonas Elliot, Katie Fabry (treasurer), Alexa Francisco, Kendall Grant (co-president), Kathryn Grell, Andrew Grosse, Jordan Guadugno, Angelia Guercio, Kerin Haft, Emma Hallowell, Dana Henderson, John Hoppe, Dylan Kruger, Rebecca Lee, Dakota Lopez, Jessica Mackey, Kaitlyn Malewicz, Kameron McGrath, Matthew Moore, Kate Moskowitz (co-president), Raymond O'Connor, Nicholas Pandolfo, Kristen Papillo, Gianna Pico, James Reed, Tyler Rigo, Cari Roccaro, Nicole Rudolph, Natalie Salazar, Megan Scharfschwerdt, Serena Scott, Athena Shea, Nicolas Sosa, Matthew Stitt, Colleen Walsh (historian), Christy Wysota and Tina Zicolella.

In order to receive recognition as NHS members, these exceptional students maintained high standards in academics, character and leadership. In addition, each member contributed over 40 hours of his or her time to help those in the East Islip community, amounting to almost 2000 hours total for the organization. This year the NHS sponsored or participated in many worthy events during the 2011-2012 school year, benefiting charities that included the St. Baldrick’s Foundation, the New York Special Olympics, the Make-A-Wish Foundation and Lauren's First and Goal.

2011-2012 Board of Education President Glenn Reed attended the event, and remarked, “I am grateful to have shared in the pride of our 2012 NHS members. Congratulations to all!”

Photos by Glenn Reed