Keep Islip Clean Inducts Five EI Students

Five East Islip High School students were inducted into the Keep Islip Clean program at an Oct. 9 ceremony held at Islip Town Hall West.

Keep Islip Clean, founded in 1989, encourages town residents to participate in cleaning up roadside litter.

Deputy Supervisor Trish Bergin Weichbrodt led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance, and speakers included three KIC officials – Executive Director Nancy Cochran, Chairman William Johnston and Co-Chairman Pamela Raymond – as well as educator Darien Logan. East Islip High School Principal William Brennen was also in attendance.

Councilman Steven J. Flotteron presented certificates to East Islip’s Jessica Carino, Elizabeth Loizides, Rachael Maretsky, Abigail Shulman and Caleb Shulman, who were all sworn in as KIC Junior Commissioners along with students from 10 other school districts in the Town of Islip. The title of Junior Commissioner designates environmentally conscious and civic-minded high schoolers recommended to represent their schools and communities in helping to implement KIC’s programs (such as Adopt-a-Highway, Adopt-a-Waterway and Anti-Graffiti) and developing their own cleanup projects.